Skip to content
Newcastle upon Tyne Counts — Newcastle upon Tyne, in numbers.Local help →

Newcastle upon Tyne · England

People and living standards

Newcastle upon Tyne council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Newcastle upon Tyne

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Newcastle upon Tyne local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 275,009 in 1991 to 320,838 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Newcastle upon Tyne council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 280,903 people in 1996; 320,838 people in 2025. 14.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Newcastle upon Tyne council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991275,009
1992278,727
1993282,735
1994281,158
1995281,289
1996280,903
1997278,164
1998274,455
1999270,975
2000267,623
2001266,241
2002267,001
2003266,862
2004266,884
2005269,608
2006270,258
2007271,577
2008271,649
2009273,422
2010276,681
2011279,092
2012280,869
2013284,371
2014286,876
2015287,955
2016290,316
2017291,759
2018294,955
2019297,087
2020298,426
2021298,545
2022304,837
2023313,354
2024318,852
2025320,838
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Newcastle upon Tyne council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 54,830 people in 1996; 53,266 people in 2025. 2.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Newcastle upon Tyne council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199151,974
199253,468
199354,849
199455,098
199555,195
199654,830
199754,227
199853,269
199951,308
200050,135
200149,330
200248,380
200347,648
200446,973
200546,797
200646,865
200746,836
200846,858
200946,954
201047,466
201147,934
201248,344
201348,913
201449,547
201550,004
201650,521
201750,916
201851,255
201951,592
202051,750
202151,693
202252,177
202353,249
202453,611
202553,266
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Newcastle upon Tyne council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 181,732 people in 1996; 219,098 people in 2025. 20.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Newcastle upon Tyne council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991177,436
1992179,824
1993182,671
1994181,160
1995181,556
1996181,732
1997179,962
1998177,617
1999176,582
2000174,644
2001174,223
2002176,441
2003177,359
2004178,534
2005181,841
2006183,187
2007185,136
2008185,616
2009187,528
2010190,295
2011192,265
2012192,529
2013194,761
2014196,007
2015196,320
2016197,666
2017198,223
2018200,525
2019201,630
2020202,505
2021201,983
2022207,024
2023213,494
2024217,712
2025219,098
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Newcastle upon Tyne council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,341 people in 1996; 48,474 people in 2025. 9.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Newcastle upon Tyne council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,599
199245,435
199345,215
199444,900
199544,538
199644,341
199743,975
199843,569
199943,085
200042,844
200142,688
200242,180
200341,855
200441,377
200540,970
200640,206
200739,605
200839,175
200938,940
201038,920
201138,893
201239,996
201340,697
201441,322
201541,631
201642,129
201742,620
201843,175
201943,865
202044,171
202144,869
202245,636
202346,611
202447,529
202548,474
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 300,127 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Newcastle upon Tyne · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh34,12811.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African9,9213.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6,9202.3%
White240,00280%
Other ethnic group9,1563.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 280,177 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Newcastle upon Tyne · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White239,53385.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,2791.5%
Asian/Asian British27,1079.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5,1601.8%
Other ethnic group4,0981.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 259,536 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Newcastle upon Tyne · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White241,68493.1%
Mixed2,2900.9%
Asian/Asian British11,3724.4%
Black/Black British9590.4%
Chinese/Other3,2311.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 23.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Newcastle upon Tyne council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,424 per person in 1997; £19,762 per person in 2024. 109.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Newcastle upon Tyne council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,424
19989,725
19999,921
200010,536
200111,046
200211,245
200311,631
200412,176
200512,124
200612,524
200712,923
200813,150
200913,446
201013,748
201113,728
201214,245
201314,427
201414,778
201515,460
201615,460
201715,655
201816,079
201916,848
202016,726
202117,557
202218,289
202319,071
202419,762
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Newcastle upon Tyne council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -11.2% in 1997; -23.9% in 2024. 12.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Newcastle upon Tyne council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-11.2
1998-10.2
1999-12.3
2000-11.5
2001-10.7
2002-11.1
2003-10.8
2004-10.3
2005-13.8
2006-14.5
2007-15.8
2008-16.5
2009-16
2010-14.9
2011-15.7
2012-15.7
2013-17.6
2014-18.3
2015-18.7
2016-19.7
2017-20.5
2018-21.2
2019-20
2020-20.3
2021-19.6
2022-20.4
2023-22
2024-23.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

21.1%

21 March 2021 · Newcastle upon Tyne local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.6%

21 March 2021 · Newcastle upon Tyne local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.3%

21 March 2021 · Newcastle upon Tyne local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£208,000

July 2026 · Newcastle upon Tyne local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,215

August 2026 · Newcastle upon Tyne local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.